Compare HOA software for self-managed boards
Compare pricing, terms, and features for the leading HOA platforms. Every competitor detail comes from the vendor's own site.
| Feature | Communitrak | PayHOA |
|---|---|---|
| 250 homes, billed annually | $149/mo | $199/mo |
| Built-in gate & door access | Yes | Not listed |
| Refundable amenity deposits | Yes | Not listed |
| Parking & vehicle registry | Yes | Not listed |
| Push notifications | Yes | Not listed |
One resident directory. One connected community.
The short answer
Communitrak fits volunteer boards that want to run their community from one set of resident records. One plan includes resident management, online payments, communications, documents, requests and violations, forms and voting, a community website, and amenity reservations.
Communitrak Access is an optional add-on that connects supported gates, doors, pools, and other facilities to those records. PayHOA or HOA Start may be a better fit if your treasurer needs a full general ledger and bank reconciliation. HOA Express may cost less if you mainly need a community website and announcements. Condo Control is geared more toward staffed condo buildings, while management companies should compare platforms designed for portfolios.
Why self-managed boards choose Communitrak
Communitrak's advantage isn't just its feature count. It's how day-to-day work stays connected as residents and board members change.
One Resident Record Across the Community
Payments, violations, requests, messages, amenity reservations, and vehicle records stay connected to the same households. Optional Communitrak Access uses those records for supported gates and doors, so the board doesn't need a separate access database.
Built for self-managed HOAsStraightforward Pricing for Volunteer Boards
One plan for every community, with every feature included, from $49/mo. At 150 homes, Communitrak is $99/mo versus PayHOA at $129/mo; at 250 homes, it is $149/mo versus $199/mo. Access control is the only add-on.
See prices by community sizeAmenity Reservations With Your Rules Built In
Residents book the clubhouse or courts on a live calendar and pay fees or refundable deposits at checkout. Communitrak applies rules automatically, including household limits and good-standing requirements, so the board doesn't have to approve each booking.
See amenity reservationsA Cleaner Handoff to the Next Board
Board members change every year or two. With Communitrak, payment history, violations, documents, and past messages stay with the community instead of someone's inbox. Add unlimited board and committee members at no extra cost; onboarding and directory import are free.
See how Communitrak worksFeatures and Pricing, Side by Side
Taken from each vendor's own pricing and feature pages. "Not listed" means we couldn't find it there — not that the feature isn't available.
Swipe to view the selected comparisons
| Feature | CommunitrakSelf-managed HOAs | PayHOASelf-managed HOAs | HOA StartSelf-managed HOAs | HOA ExpressSmall HOAs, website-first | Condo ControlCondos, self-managed & managed | TownSqManagement companies & boards |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price & terms | ||||||
| Starting price | $49/mo1–50 properties, billed annually ($54 monthly) | $49/mo0–25 units, billed annually ($54 monthly) | From $39/moBilled annually; priced by number of homes | FreeUp to 50 households, with ads. Paid plans from $15/mo billed yearly | $67.50/moUnder 50 units | $90/moPro plan, up to 300 units; 10% off billed annually |
| Plans | One plan, every featureAccess control is an optional add-on | One plan, every feature | Three plansFeatures vary by plan | Free plus two paid plansFeatures vary by plan | Three plansPlus paid add-ons | Pro, Advanced, EnterprisePlus paid add-ons |
| Free trial | 30 days, no card | 30 days, no card | 14 days, no card | 30 days, no card | Not listed | 30 daysListed for 301+ units, on a 1-year term |
| Contract | Monthly or annualNo long-term contract | No long-term contractNo cancellation fees | Annual billing onlyNo contract | Not stated30-day money-back guarantee | Not stated | 1-year term, auto-renews |
| Setup fee | None | None | Not stated | None | Up-front costAmount not published | Not stated |
| Amenities, access & residents | ||||||
| Built-in door & gate access control | Bluetooth, NFC, fob & keypadOptional, from $69/mo for the first door; hardware extra | Not listed | Through ProptiaPremium plan and up | Not listed | Through hardware partnersSuch as ButterflyMX and BAS-IP | Guest access controlAdvanced plan and up |
| Amenity reservations | Fees, refundable deposits & booking rules | Fees & usage waiversLaunched February 2026 | Premium plan and up | Not listed | Add-on on base planIncluded on Modern and Premium | Included |
| Parking & vehicle registry | Resident & guest vehicles | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | Parking permits | Not listed |
| Public website | Custom domain included | Website builder | Included | Custom domain on paid plans | Premium planOr a paid add-on on the base plan | Varies by packageIncluded in some Pro listings; shown as a $10/mo add-on in others |
| Resident app | Installable app with push notificationsWeb app; not in the app stores | Mobile-friendly webNo app-store app found | iOS & AndroidPremium and up, or $500 one-time | Not listed | iOS & Android | iOS & Android |
| Running the community | ||||||
| Violation tracking | Photos, notices & fines | Included | Premium plan and up | Not listed | Add-on on base planIncluded on Modern and Premium | $20/mo add-onOr Enterprise plan |
| Architectural requests | Committee review & vote | Through request forms | Premium plan and up | Not listed | Included | Advanced planOr $20/mo add-on |
| Voting | Elections & ballot measures | Included | Included | Surveys & pollsEngage plan | E-voting & proxy voting | $250 per voting event |
| Mailed lettersPrinted and posted for you | $2.25/letterUSPS First-Class, for violation and architectural notices; certified mail $11.95 | $1.25/letterUSPS First Class | From $1.80/letter | From $1.25/letter | Not listed | Not listed |
| Email & text | Unlimited email, plus text5 community texts per month, then $2 each | Unlimited email, text & phone calls | Email & text1,000–10,000 texts by plan, then $25 per 1,000 | Engage plan2 text credits per household per month | Voice & text on PremiumOr a paid add-on on the base plan | AnnouncementsEmergency broadcast is a $20/mo add-on |
| Payments & money | ||||||
| Online dues payments | Card, ACH & autopay | Card & ACH | Online payments | Engage planNot on the free or Inform plans | Online payments | Online payments |
| AccountingGeneral ledger, bank reconciliation | Dues ledger & exports for your accountantNot a general ledger | General ledger, bank reconciliation, budgets | Chart of accounts, bank reconciliationBookkeeping service costs extra | Not listed | Accounting integration | Enterprise plan |
| Processing feesCard · bank (ACH) | 4.5% · 2.4%Board can pass fees to the resident | 3.5% + $0.50 · $2.45Board can pass fees to the resident | Rate not publishedFees can be passed to members | 3.2% + $0.80 · 1.4%Pass-through on the Engage plan | Not published | Not published |
Prices are per community per month in US dollars, as published on each vendor's site on September 10, 2026. Prices can change, so check the linked sources before deciding.
What You'd Pay at Your Size
Monthly subscription prices when billed annually, where published. Compare each vendor at your community's number of homes.
| Homes | 25 | 50 | 100 | 150 | 250 | 500 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CommunitrakOne plan, every feature | $49 | $49 | $99 | $99 | $149 | $199 |
| PayHOAOne plan, every feature | $49 | $59 | $99 | $129 | $199 | $249 |
| TownSq ProViolations may cost extra; website varies by package | $81 | $81 | $81 | $81 | $81 | $162 |
| Condo ControlBase plan; billing term not stated | $67.50 | Not published | $135 | $135 | $270 | Not published |
| HOA Express EngageNo violations, amenities, or accounting listed | $21 | $29 | $41 | $48 | $57 | $64 |
| HOA StartOnly "starting at" prices published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
Lower prices usually mean less included. HOA Express Engage does not list violation tracking, amenity booking, or accounting. On TownSq Pro, violation tracking and a public website may cost extra, voting costs $250 per event, and the plan has a one-year term. Communitrak includes violation tracking, amenity reservations, voting, and a community website in one plan.
TownSq prices are its published monthly rate ($90 up to 300 units, $180 for 301–900) less its 10% annual discount. Condo Control publishes $67.50 for under 50 units and a quote for 50–99, and it quotes communities of 500 or more units.
Up to $600 Less per Year Than PayHOA
With annual billing, Communitrak and PayHOA cost the same at 25 and 100 homes, while Communitrak costs less at every other size shown. At 250 or 500 homes, the difference is $50 a month, or $600 a year; at 150 homes, it's $30 a month. Every Communitrak feature — including violation tracking, amenity reservations, and a community website — is included in one plan. Access control is the only add-on.
How Communitrak Compares
Comparing Communitrak with a specific tool? Here are the differences that matter most.
PayHOA
The closest match: both are built for self-managed boards and offer a 30-day trial. Communitrak costs the same or less at every size compared, and its one plan includes amenity reservations with refundable deposits and a resident and guest vehicle registry. Optional Communitrak Access connects supported gates and doors to the resident directory. PayHOA goes further on accounting, with a general ledger and bank reconciliation.
HOA Start
HOA Start puts violation tracking, architectural requests, and amenity booking on its Premium plan, bills annually only, and offers a 14-day trial. Communitrak has one plan with every feature, billed monthly or annually, plus a 30-day trial. Communitrak offers its own optional access control system; HOA Start offers access control through a partner.
HOA Express
HOA Express is the budget choice for a community website and announcements, including a free plan. It doesn't list violation tracking, architectural requests, amenity booking, or accounting, so it suits boards focused on keeping residents informed. Communitrak is for boards that also need to collect dues, enforce rules, and manage amenities.
Condo Control
Condo Control suits staffed condo buildings with a front desk and offers native apps. It doesn't list a free trial, and amenity booking and violation tracking are paid add-ons on its base plan. Communitrak includes both from $49/mo, with a 30-day trial and no credit card required.
TownSq
TownSq publishes size-dependent packages on an automatically renewing one-year term. Its pricing page lists violation tracking as a paid add-on on some Pro configurations and voting at $250 per event; website availability varies by package and community size. Communitrak includes violation tracking, voting, and a community website in one plan, with month-to-month billing available.
See it with your own community
Start a 30-day free trial with no credit card, and we'll import your directory for free.
Start a free trialIs Communitrak Right for Your Board?
A strong fit if
- You're a volunteer board running your own HOA or condo association
- You want payments, violations, messaging, a website, and amenities in one plan
- Your community has gates, a pool, a clubhouse, or courts to control access to
- You'd rather pay month to month than sign a one-year term
- You have up to 1,000 homes (larger communities get a custom quote)
Consider something else if
Communitrak tracks each household's balance and payment history and exports clean records for your accountant, but it doesn't replace accounting software. PayHOA and HOA Start include a ledger.
Communitrak is built for boards running their own communities. If you manage multiple associations for clients, consider the platforms built for managers below.
Buildium, AppFolio, and Vantaca: Built for Management Companies
These names often appear first in HOA software searches. They're capable platforms, but they're built for professional managers running many communities, and their pricing reflects that.
Buildium
Property management software that also serves association managers. Plans start at $62/mo with a 14-day trial, but community associations must call for a quote.
SourceAppFolio
Built for management companies, with quote-based pricing. The pricing page says a minimum spend and 50-unit minimum apply, including for community associations.
SourceVantaca
Built for professional management companies. Its July 2026 buyer's guide says it "is not the right choice if you are a self-managed association looking for a simple portal."
SourceLooking at Vista Blue Connect?
Vista Blue Connect is a document, compliance, and communication portal from Vista Blue Management for Century Village boards in West Palm Beach, Florida. Independent associations pay $99/mo plus $2.85 per unit and a one-time $1,467 setup fee that includes scanning 2,000 pages. Its site doesn't mention online dues payments. Communitrak also works for Florida condo associations, with documents, messaging, and online dues in one plan and no setup fee.
SourceHow We Compared
We're Communitrak, so we're not a neutral party. That's why every competitor figure on this page comes from the vendor's own public pricing or feature pages, checked on September 10, 2026. We left out anything we couldn't confirm there. Where we couldn't find a feature, the grid says "Not listed" rather than "No".
Prices change. If you spot something out of date, email hello@communitrak.com and we'll correct it.
Take a Closer Look at Communitrak
See the details behind the comparison.
See How Communitrak Fits Your Community
Frequently asked questions
Communitrak fits volunteer boards that want resident records, online payments, communications, documents, requests and violations, forms and voting, a community website, and amenity reservations in one connected platform. Optional Communitrak Access connects supported gates and doors to those records. PayHOA or HOA Start may be a better fit if your treasurer needs a full general ledger and bank reconciliation. Management companies are generally better served by platforms built for portfolios.
Both are built for self-managed boards and offer a 30-day trial with no credit card. Communitrak costs the same or less at every size compared, up to $600 less per year. Its one plan includes refundable amenity deposits and a resident and guest vehicle registry, while optional Communitrak Access connects supported gates and doors to the resident directory. PayHOA goes further on accounting, with a general ledger and bank reconciliation, and includes unlimited texts and phone calls.
Communitrak is the only product in this comparison that offers its own optional access control system. It supports gates, pools, clubhouses, and courts, and residents can use a phone, card, fob, or keypad code. Access permissions stay connected to resident records. HOA Start offers access control through Proptia on its Premium plan, while Condo Control integrates with hardware partners such as ButterflyMX. PayHOA and HOA Express do not list access control on the pages reviewed.
Some do. PayHOA and HOA Start include a general ledger with bank reconciliation, and TownSq offers full accounting on its Enterprise plan. Communitrak focuses on collecting dues: it tracks each household's balance and payment history and exports clean records for your treasurer or accountant rather than replacing accounting software.
Of the tools compared here, only HOA Express has a free plan. It covers up to 50 households, shows ads, and doesn't include online payments, blast emails, or a custom domain. Communitrak, PayHOA, and HOA Express offer 30-day trials with no credit card; HOA Start offers a 14-day trial.
Fees vary by vendor, and most let the board pass them to the paying resident. Communitrak charges 4.5% for cards and 2.4% for ACH. PayHOA publishes 3.5% + $0.50 for cards and $2.45 per ACH payment. HOA Express publishes 3.2% + $0.80 for cards and 1.4% for bank payments. HOA Start, Condo Control, and TownSq don't publish rates on their pricing pages.
They're built for professional management companies rather than volunteer boards. AppFolio uses quote-based pricing and has a 50-unit minimum, while Buildium asks community associations to call for pricing. Vantaca's own buyer's guide says it isn't the right choice for a self-managed association.
Vista Blue Connect is built for Century Village boards in West Palm Beach, Florida. It focuses on documents and Florida compliance tracking. Independent associations pay $99/mo plus $2.85 per unit, with a $1,467 setup fee. Its site doesn't mention online dues payments or accounting.
With Communitrak, resident payments are typically deposited into your HOA's bank account within 2 to 4 business days. Timing can vary by bank and bank holiday.
Every competitor figure was checked against the vendor's own website on September 10, 2026. Prices and features change, so confirm on each vendor's site before deciding. If you spot something out of date, email hello@communitrak.com and we'll correct it.